• Certified Pedestrian Safety Professional (CPSP)*
  • Flagger* (certification length and standards vary by state)
  • Flagger Instructor Training (FIT)*
  • Guardrail Installer (GI) 
  • Pavement Marking Technician (PMT)
  • Traffic Control Design Specialist (TCDS)
  • Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS)
  • Traffic Control Technician (TCT)
  • Traffic Sign Technician (TST)
  • Truck-Mounted Attenuator Operator (TMA)
  • State certifications and applications:
    • Florida Intermediate (TCT) or Advanced (TCS)
    • Louisiana Traffic Sign Technician (TST) - Level I or II
    • Virginia Basic (TCT), Intermediate (TCS) or Advanced (TCDS)
    • Washington (TCS)


*Certification is included with this course; no application necessary. 


We are committed to providing the best possible educational experience. Our safety and work zone training courses are designed around real-world challenges and incorporate tools and exercises that transfer learned skills to the daily work environment.


Benefits to Your Company
  • Promotes industry professionalism and excellence
  • Helps reduce corporate liability
  • Provides compliance with state mandates
  • Helps decrease employee turnover and improve morale
  • Contributes to increased innovation and cost savings
  • Promotes your company’s commitment to safety within your community
Benefits to You
  • Reflects commitment and dedication to safety
  • Improves career opportunities
  • Enhances marketability and competitive advantages
  • Establishes industry recognition and professional credentials


To be certified, you will need to meet the following criteria to receive a designation through the ATSSA Certification Board:

  1. Complete the training course(s) associated with the certification you are pursuing.
  2. Successfully pass, with a grade of 80% or better, the final examination offered at the completion of the training course(s). Instructors must score a 90%.
  3. Apply for the designation by completing the certification application, providing two references familiar with your work history and paying the appropriate certification application fee.


ATSSA reviews and verifies your application, training and work experience. Upon validation of the application and work experience, and approval by the ATSSA Certification Board, you will receive certification, which is valid for up to four (4) years.


With ongoing regulatory, compliance and industry safety changes, ATSSA requires recertification every four (4) years* to ensure that certified individuals stay up to date with the latest standards and techniques necessary to effectively perform their jobs and ensure both public and worker safety.

*Flagger certification length and standards vary by state. View details by state

We offer three convenient ways to recertify:

  1. In-person at a scheduled course
  2. In-person with an ATSSA-approved proctor
  3. Online in the new ATSSA training platform

Recertification must be completed prior to your certification expiration date. If you do not recertify prior to expiration, you will be required to retake training and pay the certification fee before certification can be reinstated.

Disclaimer: ATSSA provides training and certification but neither constitutes employment by ATSSA.

Transfers & Cancellations

Find ATSSA policies on transfers and cancellations for training courses, exams and recertification.