The submission deadline for fiscal year 2022 grants for the Safe Streets and Roads for All SS4A program is Sept. 15 by 5 p.m.

Applications must be submitted through Details are available on the Notice of Funding Opportunity NOFO with additional resources available at the SS4A website.

The SS4A website provides general program information, fact sheets, a “How to Apply” page, answers to frequently asked questions, and webinar presentations and recordings.

Groups eligible to apply for the grants include metropolitan planning organizations; counties, cities, towns, transit agencies or special districts within a state; federally recognized tribal governments; and multijurisdictional groups comprised of these groups.

Activities that are eligible include developing or updating a comprehensive safety action plan; conducting planning, design and development activities in support of an action plan; and carrying out projects and strategies identified in an action plan. A list of example activities is available.

In May, the U.S. Department of Transportation USDOT released its NOFO for the newly created Safe Streets and Roads for All Program, a $5 billion grant program focused on local vision zero projects which was created in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act IIJA. The grant is funded at $1 billion annually through Fiscal Year 2026.

Published Date

September 7, 2022

Post Type

  • News


  • Funding

Related News Articles

American flag pole on road
August 16, 2023
Final guidance issued on ‘Buy America’ policy

The Office of Management and Budget OMB has released the final guidance related to the Build America, Buy America Act...

Deer on road
August 9, 2023
Integrating wildlife patterns into roadway plans helps save lives

With elk, mule deer and pronghorn antelope among the many animals trekking across Wyoming, the state’s Department of Transportation knows...

Sam Graves headshot
January 10, 2023
ATSSA congratulates Graves on being named chair of T&I Committee

ATSSA congratulates Rep. Sam Graves R-Mo. on being chosen to chair the Transportation and Infrastructure T&I Committee in the 118th...