Roadway Safety Innovation

Innovation in the roadway safety industry

Outsiders of the transportation infrastructure industry may look to autonomous vehicles as an icon of innovation on the roadways, but for state Department of Transportation (DOT) officials, manufacturers, suppliers, and contractors in the roadway safety and infrastructure industry, innovation is not a stationary achievement. It is much more than a mile marker and not as easily defined.

With different perspectives and priorities, industry stakeholders are finding that in addition to new technologies, innovation is heavily reliant on communication between entities. Industry leaders are working together to move forward and ATSSA is no different. The association works year-round to progress and develop creative solutions for all of its initiatives including highlighting innovative products and technologies, training, and ATSSA membership.

One innovative effort ATSSA is involved in is a joint initiative with the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Standing Committee on Traffic Control Devices (AHB50). Both ATSSA and TRB sponsor and conduct an exciting design competition, the Traffic Control Device (TCD) Student Challenge, to promote innovation and stimulate ideas in the traffic control devices area with a goal to improve operations and safety.

Find recent updates on the latest innovations in the resource list below and be sure to check back for updates.

Exhibit at ATSSA's Annual Traffic Expo


Do you have an innovative roadway safety product? Exhibitors can showcase their innovations in the New Products Rollout at the Annual Convention & Traffic Expo. Products released after Jan. 1 of this year qualify for entry. Twenty will be accepted for the New Product Listing and just 12 will be accepted for presentation to a panel of judges. The top three products will earn an Innovation Award that will be announced during the Convention.

Learn more
about featuring your innovative product to key industry professionals. View videos of last year's entries and award winners.



ATSS Foundation announces Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship recipients

Scholarships awarded to 14 students for 2020-21 academic year

Contact: Maria Robertston

ATSSA Director of Marketing & Communications



ATSS Foundation announces Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship recipients

Scholarships awarded to 14 students for 2020-21 academic year

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. (June 3, 2020) – The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation awarded 14 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarships and three Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships to college and university students around the country for the 2020-21 academic year.

The Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program provides financial assistance for post-high school education to dependents of roadway workers killed or permanently disabled in roadway work zones. The program is competitive and provides scholarships with values up to $10,000 per student each year. Applicants who demonstrate a strong commitment to volunteerism may be eligible for an additional $1,000 in honor of Chuck Bailey, a member of the roadway safety industry who died in 2002.

The ATSS Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $58,000, including three Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships.

The Foundation Board interviewed and thoroughly vetted scholarship applicants to ensure it is responsibly stewarding the resources entrusted to it, said Foundation President David Krahulec.

“During this process we have an opportunity to get to know each applicant and hear his or her story. This can be a very heartbreaking experience as these young people have all experienced a tragedy, but it’s also very rewarding to help them realize their goal of a post-secondary education,” Krahulec said. “Of course, none of this would be possible without the generosity of individuals, companies and organizations that support the work of The Foundation.”

The Foundation has awarded 88 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarships since 2002 and 21 Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships since 2004 for a total value of $313,000, according to Lori Diaz, associate director of The Foundation.

“The Foundation would not be able to offer life-changing services for families affected by work zone tragedy, like the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship program, without the generosity of donors,” Diaz said.

Following are the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship recipients, their hometowns and the colleges they will attend for the 2020-21 academic year.

  • Tessa Beard, Highland, Ill., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Cody Garner, Batesville, Ark., University of Arkansas, also awarded the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship
  • Daniel Hart, Ridge, N.Y., State University of New York at Cortland, also awarded the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship
  • Emily Hause, Eaton Rapids, Mich., Grand Valley State University
  • Cameron Hutt, Cleveland, Tenn., University of Tennessee in Knoxville
  • Joann Jones, Bluffton, Ind., Case Western Reserve University
  • Mariela Lara, Ojai, Calif., Santa Barbara City College
  • Andrea Pair, Spiro, Okla., Harding University College of Pharmacy
  • Courtney Parsons, Kelso, Wash., Bellevue College
  • Caitlyn Rains, Proctor, Ark., Arkansas State University Mid-South
  • James Sikorski, Titusville, Fla., Eastern Florida State College
  • Lee Timmons, Walkerton, Ind., Trine University
  • Marcie Walker, Dry Ridge, Ky., Morehead State University
  • Maycie Walker, Dry Ridge, Ky., University of Pikeville, also awarded the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship

The Foundation is the charitable arm of ATSSA. It was formed in 1988 with the core purpose to promote roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs. Donations can be made at


ATSSA’s core purpose is to advance roadway safety. ATSSA represents the roadway safety industry with effective legislative advocacy and a far-reaching member partnership. The Association also leads the nation in work zone safety training and education for roadway workers across the country. ATSSA members accomplish the advancement of roadway safety through the design, manufacture, and installation of road safety and traffic control devices. Visit to learn more.

5929 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.