Legislative advocacy for the roadway safety industry

ATSSA’s Government Relations Team is here to help the roadway safety industry educate decision-makers on the state and federal level, to advocate for roadway safety infrastructure policies and funding. Learn more about ATSSA’s grassroots advocacy to advance policies that move us Toward Zero Deaths on our nation’s roadways and how you can get involved.

Cutting the gas tax is a COST we can't afford. Learn more now.

Get Involved


Join us in promoting state and
federal level policies that make
our roads safer.

Political Action Committee


The PAC provides support to policy makers on Capitol Hill that support roadway safety.

Federal Advocacy


Passionately advocating for
roadway safety infrastructure on
Capitol Hill.



Bringing together ATSSA members from across the country in a united voice for roadway safety.

State Advocacy


Connecting ATSSA chapters with
state-level grass roots efforts
across the country.

Toward Zero Deaths


TZD is a national strategy on highway safety that advocates for eliminating injury & death on roadways.

Advocacy news & blogs

ATSSA awards Sen. Inhofe as Roadway Safety Champion

ATSSA awards Sen. Inhofe as Roadway Safety Champion

(Washington, D.C.) – The American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA) presented its prestigious Roadway Safety Champion Award to Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK). Inhofe was awarded May 3, during the first day of ATSSA's Legislative Briefing and Fly-In, which Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Val Demings (D-FL), Rep. Brendan Boyle (D-PA) and Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL) also attended.

"ATSSA's approximately 1,500 members applaud Sen. Inhofe's steadfast leadership in ensuring that roadways in the United States are as safe as possible," ATSSA President and CEO, Roger A. Wentz, said.

Inhofe, a former chairman of the Environment and Public Works Committee and current senior member of the committee, has been a longtime leader on roadway safety infrastructure issues.

"ATSSA leads the nation in roadway safety and I am honored to receive this recognition,” Sen. Inhofe said. “Roadway safety is critically important and one of my top priorities as a leader on the Environment and Public Works committee. As Congress gears up for its next infrastructure initiative, I remain committed to working with my colleagues on this bipartisan issue."

Additionally, Inhofe's work on the last three surface transportation bills have been transformative for the safety of all roadway users.

"Sen. Inhofe's perseverance in moving forward a long-term highway bill - the FAST Act - was crucial in ensuring that roadway safety infrastructure projects are being deployed throughout the country. Lives are being saved today because of the legislation spearheaded by Sen. Inhofe," ATSSA Vice President of Government Relations, Nate Inhofe AwardSmith, said.

ATSSA Chair Debra Ricker presents Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK) with the Roadway Safety Champion Award during the first day of the association’s Legislative Briefing and Fly-In on May 3 in Washington, D.C.

Next Article Not a gas crisis. A transportation crisis.
8547 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.