Illinois Chapter


Chapter Meeting Materials
Date Item
Dec 5, 2017

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Agenda, Lights on Barricades Handout, and Recap of the Traffic Engineering Safety Conference (TES) of October 17, 2017

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Notice

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Save the Date

Chapter Archives
Oct 17, 2017 IL-ATSSA/IDOT TES Workshop Agenda
Sep 12, 2017

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Summary

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Agenda

June 6, 2017

IL-ATSSA Meeting Summary

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Agenda (UPDATED)

Other Meeting Documents:

IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Reminder 
IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Save the Date

Dec 6, 2016 IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Summary
IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Agenda
IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Notice
IL-ATSSA Chapter Meeting Save the Date
Oct 19-20, 2016 65th Illinois Traffic Engineering and Safety Conference
Oct 18, 2016 IL-ATSSA and IDOT Pre-TES Conference District Safety Workshop

Chapter Resources
Date Item
Aug 5, 2016 Illinois Chapter Bylaws
  ATSSA Vendor Presentation Policy
  Illinois DOT Information
Doing Business With IDOT 
Illinois Specifications for Traffic Control and Barricades 
Illinois Specifications for Signs    
Illinois Specifications for Pavement Markings
Illinois Specifications for Guard Rail, Cable Rail and Fencing  
Illinois Specifications for Raised Pavement Markers  
Anti-Skid Surfaces - pending
  Special Provision for Payments to Subcontractors
Illinois New Specification on NCHRP 350

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) presented its 2007 Safety Leadership Awards to the Illinois, Minnesota and Missouri departments of transportation at the annual meeting on October 1, 2007 in Milwaukee.

In 2004 IDOT established the position of State Safety Engineer and a Bureau of Safety Engineering, which serves as the primary point of contact for all IDOT safety engineering efforts. The Bureau of Safety works closely with the Division of Traffic Safety as part of the CHSP and with these efforts deaths on Illinois highways have decreased from 1,420 in 2002 to 1,254 in 2006. It is the lowest number of fatalities since 1924.

The Illinois Chapter of ATSSA is pleased to see the recognition given to IDOT, the Bureau of Safety and Priscilla Tobias for her leadership roll in promoting safety.



  • The American Traffic Safety Services Association
  • 15 Riverside Parkway, Suite 100
  • Fredericksburg, Virginia 22406-1077
  • Telephone: (800) 272-8772



Recent Tweets